**OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE REGULAR UNIFIED SCHOOL BOARD MEETING** – The Unified Board of Education met in Bruning on July 08, 2024. Pursuant to laws and notices posted at Bruning-Davenport Schools, Cornerstone Bank, Bruning Bank, Bruning Post Office, Davenport Post Office, and also published in The Hebron Journal-Register on July 3, 2024; all proceedings were taken while the meeting was open to the public.

President Jerry Baysinger called the meeting to order at 7:30 PM. Unified members present were, Sarah Krehnke, Ryan Miller, Sheri Norder, and Brad Williams. Local board members present were Pat Kowalski and Ryne Philippi. Also present were Superintendent Kelly Lampe, Principal Ruth Kowalski, Erika Brinegar, Cammie Freitag, Krissy Ozenbaugh, Lon Schoenholz, Brooke Soukup, Trey Strong, and Logan Zeleny.

Sarah Krehnke moved, seconded by Sheri Norder to approve the absence of Jamie Koch. (Roll Call Vote 5-0).

President Baysinger welcomed all guests and recognized the Open Meetings Act.

Facility Advocates presented their updates to renovating our current school buildings.

Members of the public spoke about wanting a meeting with the Board about a new school building.

The Consent Agenda included the agenda, June 10, 2024, Unified Board meeting minutes, Treasurer's Report, and the July claims. Krehnke moved, seconded by Brad Williams to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Roll call vote (5-0)

Principal Kowalski reported on the following – Back to school night is August 126:30-8:30 – excited for the new teachers coming in – working on implementing the training staff has had on MTSS

Superintendent Lampe reported on the following – Financial Update – need to fill PE/AD position – going to implement new discipline/cell phone policy for this school year

## **Discussion Items: No action taken**

- A. Before and After School Program nothing happening at this time.
- B. Facility Concerns need more meetings for further discussion.

Action Items: (All motions require a roll call vote and all are carried 5-0 unless noted.)

- A. Krehnke moved, seconded by Ryan Miller to approve the resignation of Eric Small as PE Teacher, AD, and Coach.
- B. Williams moved, seconded by Krehnke to approve Jodie Bjorkman, Audra Loontjer-Capek, and Emily Miller as Paraprofessionals.
- C. Miller moved, seconded by Sheri Norder to approve Kent Stutheit as Music Teacher for the 2024-25 school year.
- D. Williams moved, seconded by Miller to approve the Student Fee Policy.

Krehnke moved, seconded by Norder to enter executive session "to prevent needless injury to an individual" at 8:29 PM. Williams moved, seconded by Norder to come out of the executive session at 9:01 PM.

Miller moved, seconded by Norder to adjourn the meeting at 9:02 PM.

Erika Brinegar, Recording Secretary